MiR 069 – My Life in Russia Stories – Episode 1


Welcome to episode #69 of the Mark in Russia broadcast, and I’m Mark. Today I’ll be introducing a new series, to add to my other series I presently have on my broadcast. You can listen to all of my broadcasts at: http://www.markinrussia.com

In this series I’m going to speak a little bit about my experiences as an America living in Russia. Now, a normal person would structure this series sequentially, starting with their arrival, but I won’t follow this logically way of presenting things. Actually, I have a blog which I rarely update anymore, but it does describe my first days in Russia in blog posts. You can find this blog at www.americaninrussia.com

People often ask me about how I felt when I first arrived in Russia, and honestly, I don’t remember a lot, well, I remember experiences, but not so much how I was feeling at that time. I’m a 50 something year old American guy and my generation does not get all hung up, nor devote a lot of time to our “feelings”, from many years ago.

About 5 years ago my oldest son was coming to visit me in Russia, well, the first purpose of his trip was to have an International Business Trip, which was needed in order to finish his MBA in Finance. Because he was coming here, I needed to think back to my original arrival in order to understand the things that would seem quite strange and also difficult to deal with.

Well, let’s take a brief joke break and I’ll meet you on the other side.

An English guy was very ill and his son went to visit him in the hospital. Suddenly, the father began to breathe heavily and grabbed the pen and pad by the bed. With his last ounce of strength he wrote a note, dropped it, and died.

The son was so overcome with grief that he didn’t remember slipping the note into his pocket. At the funeral, he reached into the pocket of his coat and immediately felt the note. He excitedly read it thinking it might be something he could recite during the service. It said:

YOU WANKER — GET OFF MY OXYGEN TUBE!!!

In a fancy Paris restaurant, there is a magical wish-granting mirror. But it only grants wishes if you tell the truth — if you lie, you disappear. One day, a blonde, a brunette, and a redhead enter the restaurant and decide to try out the mirror. The brunette goes first.

“I think I’m the smartest woman on earth.”

“POOF!” She disappears. The redhead goes up to try. p> “I think I’m the prettiest woman on earth.”

“POOF!” She disappears. The blonde goes up.

“I think–”

“POOF!”

Well, we’re back again.

Thanks for listening to my broadcast today. Since it is a new series, I’d really appreciate hearing from you in the comments section on my website, www.markinrussia.com

When I create a new series I have no idea of whether my listeners like it or not, or if I should even continue it, unless I get feedback from you.

I hope that you’ll join me again until next time, but until then, GoodBye

Gallery | This entry was posted in My Russia Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

